A Performance of a Lifetime

It’s time for Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers again.  I didn’t intend to, but it looks like I have a series going on.  It is about a girl who has found herself kidnapped, and thrown into human trafficking. Human trafficking knows no age limit, gender, or socioeconomic boundaries.  It is modern day slavery.

I am thinking about expanding these stories, but haven’t decided yet.  Let me know what you think.  I love your comments.  Having a blog has been such a positive experience for me. I have enjoyed each, and everyone of you.

If you would like to participate please click here.

If you would like to read the first story in this series, click here.

You will find the second story in the series here.

wpid-photo-20150417183613825
© Vanessa Rodriquez

A Performance of a Lifetime

Women and men dressed in business attire rush past me. At the train station, everyone is rushing to make their commute. I’m walking with our caravan clad in the finest fashion has to offer.

Our cover is, we are models headed to a shoot. My name is Giselle (it’s really Olivia). Every day it is instilled in me to walk like a model, and talk Italian. I watch as Pietro, my John, takes care of transportation for us.

He purchased me for $10,000.00 on the island. The other girls tell me that’s the rate for a virgin.

During the day I am tutored in Italian, and at night I am mauled by businessmen, and celebrities. I am always at someone’s apartment. Most of the girls are at shanty brothels.

“You are fortunate.” Natalie, my roommate, said.

“Being home is fortunate. This is hell.”

I board the train, and take my place beside Pietro.

“Take this.” Pietro hands me a pill. I don’t know what it is, but I know better than to say no.

I don’t remember the train ride. Later, Pietro hands me another pill, and I begin my night.

*191(I went over a little.)

© 2015 All Rights Reserved @Silverstein Potter and Other Fictitious Ramblings

32 thoughts on “A Performance of a Lifetime

    1. Thank you PJ. It is a horrific, and enormous problem, and industry. Thanks so much for the encouragement. I going to start reading everyone else’s. I’ve been teaching all day; I haven’t had much time today. 🙂

      1. Wow, you have your hands full as a teacher, but I highly admire you for doing so! My grandmother was a first grade teacher all of her adult life and she loved doing what she did so very much. My sister use to substitute teach several years back and said the school system these days would make our grandmother turn over in her grave. Home school is a smart choice.

  1. Well done with the continuation! I agree with Olivia/Giselle – the life inflicted upon them is hell, and drug abuse often becomes the norm for many of these unfortunate girls. I’ll be interested to see where you take the story next time. 🙂

  2. This is a great continuation of the series. Your portray the horrific life she and the other trafficked girls are living really well. I look forward to seeing where you take it next. 🙂

  3. I honestly love how this story has taken off and the direction it is headed. It is such a sad reality that everyday so many girls become victims like Olivia. I can’t wait to read what happens next.

Leave a Reply

